News and Events

Position: HomeNews and Events - Detail

Frontiers in Pharmaceutical Sciences Lecture Series No. 228

Author:spsSYSU updated :2016-01-19

Topic: Biosynthetic Studies of 2-Thiosugar Formation

Speaker: Liu Hung-wen(刘鸿文),George H. Hitchings Regents Chair in Drug Design, College of Pharmacy, University of Texas at Austin
Chair: Prof. Zhishu Huang (School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, SYSU)
Time: 10:00 AM, Monday, September14, 2015
Venue: 125 Lecture Hall, School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, East Campus, SYSU


Introduction to the speaker:


B.S. Tunghai University, Taichung, Taiwan, 1974

M.A. Columbia University, New York, 1978

M.Phil. Columbia University, New York, 1981

Ph.D. Columbia University, New York, 1981



1974-1976 Military Service, Secondary Lieutenant Chemical Officer

1976-1981 Graduate Research Associate, in the laboratory of Professor Koji Nakanishi,

Department of Chemistry, Columbia University

1981-1984 National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences Postdoctoral Fellow, in

the laboratory of Professor Christopher Walsh, Department of Chemistry,

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1984-1990 Assistant Professor of Chemistry, University of Minnesota

1990-1994 Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Minnesota

1994-2000 Professor of Chemistry, University of Minnesota

1999-2000 Distinguished McKnight University Professor, University of Minnesota

2000-present George H. Hitchings Regents Chair in Drug Design, College of Pharmacy,

University of Texas at Austin, and Professor of Medicinal Chemistry,

Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Texas at Austin



Phi Tau Phi Award, for outstanding academic achievements, 1974

George B. Pegram Award for excellent graduate research, Columbia University, 1980

Camille & Henry Dreyfus Grant for Distinguished New Faculty in Chemistry, 1984

American Cancer Society Junior Faculty Research Award, 1985

Eli Lilly Life Science Young Investigator Award, 1985

National Institutes of Health Research Career Development Award, 1990

Horace S. Isbell Award, American Chemical Society Carbohydrate Chemistry Division, 1993

National Institute of General Medical Sciences MERIT Award, 1999

Nakanishi Prize, American Chemical Society Organic Chemistry Division, 2007

Repligen Award in Chemistry of Biological Processes, American Chemical Society

Biological Chemistry Division, 2008

Tunghai University Distinguished Alumnus Award 2008

A. I. Scott Medal for Excellence in Biological Chemistry Research, Texas A&M University

and American Chemical Society Texas A&M Section, 2011

Arthur C. Cope Late Career Scholars Award, American Chemical Society, 2014

Visiting Professor, ICSN-CNRS, Gif-sur-Yvette, France, 1996, 2002

Visiting Professor, Department of Chemistry, Technion, Haifa, Israel, 1996

Honorary Professor, University of Hong Kong, 2001-2006

Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2005

Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, 2006

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Fellow, 2006

Academician of Academia Sinica, 2008

Honorary Professor, Tunghai University, Taiwan, 2011-2012

Honorary Professor, National TsingHua University, 2011

Chair (2013-2014), Biological Chemistry Division, American Chemical Society

Fellow of the American Chemistry Society, 2014